Map of Central Visayas

Map of Central Visayas

Central Visayas, one of the regions of the Philippines, is designated as Region VII. It is part of the Visayas. It consists of four provinces, namely, Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, and Siquijor. The region demarcates the territory occupied by the native speakers of Cebuano. The regional capital is Cebu City.

The total land area of the region is 14852 km.


By sea
The Port of Cebu is the region’s main gateway. There are also ports in Dumaguete in Negros Oriental, Tagbilaran in Bohol and Larena in Siquijor. Inter-island shipping is served by numerous shipping lines, two of them fastcraft companies which serve all the provinces in the region.

By air
The main airport is the Mactan-Cebu International Airport, which is in Metro Cebu. There are also airports in Dumaguete (in Sibulan town), and in Tagbilaran. Tagbilaran airport is serviced by Cebu Pacific and Philippine Airlines which flies only to Manila. Dumaguete is served by Air Philippines and Cebu Pacific, both of them flying only to Manila.

ProvinceCapitalPopulationLand Area
BoholTagbilaran City1,137,2684,117.30
CebuCebu City3,356,1375,088.40
Negros OrientalDumaguete City1,126,0615,402.30