Western Visayas

Map of Western Visayas

Western Visayas, one of the regions of the Philippines, is designated as Region VI. It consists of seven provinces, namely, Aklan, Antique, Negros Occidental, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo and Palawan and 17 cities making it the region with the most number of cities. Hiligaynon, the main language, is spoken in Negros Occidental, Guimaras, Capiz and some parts of Iloilo. Kinaray-a is spoken in Antique and some parts of Iloilo. Aklanon is spoken in Aklan. Iloilo City is the regional center of the region.

Palawan, formerly part of Region IV-B, was moved to this region on May 23, 2005 by virtue of Executive Order 429.

ProvinceCapitalPopulationLand Area (km2)
AntiqueSan Jose471,0882,522.00
CapizRoxas City654,1562,633.20
IloiloIloilo City1,925,0024,719.40
Negros OccidentalBacolod City2,565,7237,926.10
PalawanPuerto Princesa City755,41214,896.30